Passport and Visa Services

  1. General Information on Passport

Nepali Passport (Machine Readable Passport or MRP) is valid for ten years from the date of issue. It is non-renewable; thereafter passport holders are required to apply for a new passport well within time before its expiry. However, in case of accidental damage or tampering of the passport or use of all pages meant for visa, one can apply for new passport any time.

Please note that as per the provision of International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), all hand-written passports must be replaced with MRP by 24 November 2015 no matter how long it is valid. Therefore, all Nepalese nationals who hold hand-written passport should apply for MRP in the Embassy at the earliest convenience. The hand-written passport holders may apply for and obtain MRP in Nepal also while on vacation.

  1.   Application Form for MRP

The application form for MRP may be downloaded Here or in the websites of the Department of Passport (DOP), Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Government of Nepal (

  1.   Fees for issuance of Passport/Temporary Passport/Travel Document

Passport fee                                                                        QR 300/-
Passport fee in case of lost/damaged of old passport QR 600/-
Temporary Passport Fee                                                     QR  80/-
One-way Travel Document (Valid for return to Nepal)          QR 150/-

  1. Required documents to apply for new passport (MRP) in lieu of old passport:
  1.  Required documents to apply for new passport (MRP) for the minor (under 16)
  1. Required Documents to apply for new passport in lieu of lost/damaged passport

Note: Applicant must be physically present in the Embassy while submitting application form and collecting the passport.

  1. Time for submission of application forms and collection of passport:

The application forms for MRP can be submitted in the Embassy from Sunday to Thursday during the following hours

Submission of applications forms:         09:00 am – 12:00 pm

Collection of MRP passports:
Sunday – Thursday 12:00 pm – 14:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm – 16:00 pm

B. General Information on Visa

  1.   All foreigners except Indian nationals must have visa to visit Nepal.


  1.   Visa can also be obtained at the Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu, Nepal upon arrival except the nationals of Nigeria, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Swaziland, Cameroon, Somalia, Liberia, Ethiopia, Iraq, Palestine, and Afghanistan. The people of these countries should take visa from the nearby Embassies of Nepal accredited to their respective countries.


  1.    The Embassy issues three types of tourist visa and their fees are as follows:
  2.          15 days multiple entry visa QR 100/-
  3.         30 days multiple entry visa QR 160/-

iii.        90 days multiple entry visa Qr. 400/-


  1.    The tourist visa shall be granted for a maximum period of 150 days in a visa year (Visa years means from January to December).


  1.   A tourist visa can be extended from the Immigration Department and Pokhara Immigration Office for a total period of 120 days, an additional 30 days visa may be granted on reasonable grounds from the Department. Over the course of a visa year, a tourist cannot stay in Nepal more than cumulative 150 days.


  1.   The following documents should be submitted to the Embassy to apply for tourist visa:
  1.   The visa application form can be submitted to the Embassy on every working day (Sunday – Thursday) from 08:00 to 14: 00 hours.


  1.   For more information, please contact Tel: +974 (44675683/81) Fax: 44675680 during working hours. Email:


  1.  Diplomatic Visa

The diplomatic passport holders can apply for diplomatic visa of Nepal. The diplomatic visa is issued gratis. The following documents are required to submit in the Embassy for diplomatic visa:


  1. Official Visa

The official passport holders can apply for official visa of Nepal. The official visa is issued gratis. The following documents are required to submit in the Embassy for official visa:

Note: All other types of visas (study visa, transit visa, non-tourist visa, business visa, residential visa, etc) are issued by the Department of Immigration in Kathmandu, Nepal (



  1. Entry or Exit Points to/from Nepal


  1. a) Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu
  2. b) Kakarvitta,  Jhapa
  3. c) Birgunj, Parsa
  4. d) Kodari, Sindhupalchok
  5. e) Belahiya, Bhairahwa
  6. f) Jamunaha, Nepalgunj
  7. g) Mohana, Dhangadhi
  8. h) Gadda Chauki, Mahendranagar
  9. i) Rashuwagadi, Rashuwa
  1. Other important information
  1. Foreign Currency provision for tourists in Nepal

As per the foreign exchange regulations of Nepal, the foreign tourists are not allowed to carry in cash more than US$ five thousands or equivalent amount of other foreign currency while traveling to Nepal. In case the need of carrying foreign currency more than that amount, tourists are advised to use banking services.